Home About us Post Activities Calendar Join VFW Honor Guard Ladies Auxiliary
Bingo N Dance Post Officers Photo Gallery Scholarships Veteran's Corner Taps  

History of VFW Post 6899


The Veterans of Foreign Wars Memorial Post 6899 charter was established on February 13, 1987 in the community of Sebastopol, Texas. Sebastopol is located about eight miles east of Trinity, Texas. There are fifty-two members listed on the original charter. The Ladies Auxiliary was established on the same date and has twenty-six members listed on their original charter. Members held regular meetings in a small building called the “Sportsman’s Retreat”.  D. R. Emmons was elected as the first Commander of the Post but had to resign due to work conflict. Roy Erickson succeeded Mr. Emmons and was the first Commander of the Post to complete the first tour of duty. Bea Erickson was the first Ladies Auxiliary President. 

To keep the Post solvent and to fund different projects VFW members and Ladies Auxiliary joined together raising monies with bake sales, barbeque and spaghetti suppers, dances, fishing tournaments and many other methods.  

In 1990 the Post was moved from Sebastopol to Trinity, Texas. Regular meetings were held at the Trinity Community Center. Finally five acres of land was purchased on West Caroline Street for $30,000 and this was the beginning of our brand new “permanent” home. Our new home has a history too. It was also the site of an old Trinity elementary school building and the concrete foundation was still in tact and in good condition and was used in the construction of our post. On January 7, 1992 at our regular meeting a building committee was formed to formulate facts and plans for a new building.  

On April 6, 1993 Red Dot Construction Company submitted a bid of $63,000 to erect a metal building. At the next regular meeting a motion was made and passed to borrow $100,000 from the First National Bank of Trinity and our first Christmas party was held in the new building in December 1993.  

We have come a long way and owe a great debt of gratitude to our charter members who have gone before us. And if it was not for our Ladies Auxiliary, we would not be where we are today. They raised more than $50,000 toward our note and we are truly partners and forever grateful to the greatest Ladies Auxiliary in State of Texas.

In 1998 Commander Charles Ainsworth and President Terry Scudder buried a Time Capsule in a pillar under construction at the entrance of the VFW Post. The Time Capsule is scheduled to be open in the year 2075.

In 2001 the VFW Post 6899 with the help of Trinity County Judge Mark Evans made a request to the Texas Department of Highway to rename the Trinity River Bridge to "Veterans of Foreign Wars Memorial Bridge". In July 2004 bride dedication ceremonies were held and World War II Pearl Harbor survivor Edward Martinson did the honors and unveiled the sign.  

 Let us never forget what we are here for “To help our fellow veterans and their families” for the sacrifices they have made for our freedom.  

Across our nation and especially in Trinity County, Texas “VFW” symbolizes volunteerism and community service.




VFW Post 6899 Charter Members
February 13, 1987

Charles C. Ainsworth W. Edward Ainsworth Wallace J. Albright Emmett W. Allen
Carl C. Arndt Odis C. Bailey Thomas R.. Barry Arden H. Bedle
Billie G. Bennett Carroll E. Brandriet James O. Bruso Jimmy B. Bullard
Milo C. Buresh Thomas K. Chapman Felix P. Cochran Clayton S. Collins
Rex Due Davy R. Emmons Roy Erickson I. G. Evans
Thomas A. Franklin William S. Galloway Willie C. Hammer David D. Harper
Ray Harrelson Edward D. Hodge Sam B. Jones Forrest K. Kennedy
James H. King Billy Lee Woodrow Mc Queen William F. Mitchell
Floyd D. Moore Troy E. Nash R. M. Norris Cleon G. Parish
George W. Paschall, Jr. Benjiman B. Rasberry Paul R. Roberts Marietta G. Robertson
Earl Robinson Floyd H. Rowden Jimmie D. Saldana Thomas D. Sample
Cecil R.. Strange William J. Stutts Haskel Taylor Melvin R. Thompson
Autis C. Tipton Ira Toups J. P. Watson J. L. Wheeler



Ladies Auxiliary VFW Post 6899 Charter Members
February 13, 1987

Betty D. Albright Betty Alford Chris Arndt Joyce M. Bailey
Melba Braneff Betty Bullard Martha E. Due Beulah Erickson
Pearl M. Emmons Virginia Harper Zenoma Hodges Lucille Jones
Clifford B. King Glenda Mitchell Jessie Mitchell Frances Rae Norris
Frances Norris Janet Paschall Mae Roberts Annie B. Robinson
Annie Reynolds Erna Rowden Margaret J. Watson Sheila L. Washburn
Pauline Wheeler Betty Wann    


Site designed and maintained by S. G. McLeod
Contact us at info@vfwpost6899.org